Register now for the Spring School on Sodium Cooled Fast Reactor!

Hosted by the University of Cambridge, the Spring School will take place online March 29th-31st, 2021. 

The Spring School on Sodium Cooled Fast Reactor is organized in the framework of the ESFR-SMART Project. An overview of the past, present, and future of the SFR projects will be given in the meeting, accompanied by short lectures on SFR fundamentals and highlights on the on-going R&D activities.


The main objectives of the meeting are to help the young generation of researchers in the area to gain a deeper knowledge and expertise in various areas of SFR fundamentals (neutronics, thermal-hydraulics, materials, and safety) and few other GEN-IV reactors, and provide an opportunity for them to present their work in their relevant field and create a network to promote collaboration in the future.

To whom it is addressed

Masters and PhD students are the main audience for the meeting.  Regulatory authorities, scientific and technical staff and young professionals are also welcome. The Spring School objectives will be achieved by means of talks and idea exchanges with specialists involved in R&D. The meeting language will be English.

  1. Overview of SFR and other Gen-IV reactors
  2. Core neutronics and thermal-hydraulics
  3. Sodium bulk and molten pool behaviour
  4. Safety systems and accident mitigation

09:00     Welcome                                                                                                            

09:10     Agenda of the Summer School

Session 1: Sodium Cooled Fast Reactor Overview (Past & Present)

09:20    Overview of FRs in the world & ASTRID project – Christian LATGÉ (CEA)

09:50    CP-ESFR & ESFR-SMART – Konstantin MIKITYUK (PSI)

10:10     PFR operational feedback – Tony JUDD

10:40     Break

11:00     EU GEN-IV activities – R.GARBIL / C. FERNANDEZ-RAMOS  

11:20     IAEA GEN-IV activities – Vladimir KRIVENTSEV (IAEA)

11:40     OECD GEN-IV activities – Tatiana IVANOVA (OECD-NEA)

12:00     Panel Discussion

12:30     Lunch Break


Session 2: Educational Session (Lecture: 40’ + 10’ questions)

13:30    Self-Introduction of participants

14:00    Lecture 1: SFR fuel: fundamentals and properties – Nathalie CHAUVIN (CEA)

14:50    Lecture 2: Deterministic modelling of nuclear systems – Christophe DEMAZIERE (Chalmers University)

15:40     Break

16:00    Lecture 3: SFR thermal-hydraulics – Robert STIEGLITZ (KIT)

16:50    Lecture 4: Benchmark exercise for Core Neutronics and Transient Behaviour – Alexander PONOMAREV (PSI)

17:40    End of the 1st Day

Session 3: ESFR-SMART R&D activities and studies

Session 3-1: ESFR Core & Fuel

09:00     Initial core performance & burnup calculations – Emil FRIDMAN (HZDR)

09:25     Coupled core T-H & neutronics simulation – Jiri KREPEL (PSI)

09:50    MOX fuel safety and performances – Dragos STAICU (JRC)

10:15    Break

Session 3-2: Sodium Boiling & Molten Pool Behaviour

10:40     Sodium boiling and transitional convection flows & Sodium boiling tests – Antoine GERSCHENFELD (CEA)

11:05     ULOF initiation phase analyses – Andrei RINEISKI (KIT)

Session 3-3: Safety System & Accident Mitigation

11:30     ESFR decay heat removal system – Calogera LOMBARDO (ENEA)

11:55     Passive core shutdown system – Evaldas BUBELIS (KIT)

12:20     Lunch Break

Session 3-4: Severe accidents mitigation

14:00     Transition and expansion phase analysis – Michael FLAD (KIT)

14:25    Source terms – LE. HERRANZ (CIEMAT) / N. GIRAULT (IRSN)

14:50     Sodium fire – Atmospheric dispersion of Na aerosols & impact studies: modeling and simulation – ORCHERON (EDF) / C. LATGE (CEA)

15:15    Corium behaviour relocated on core catcher – Michel GRADECK (LEMTA)

15:40     Break

Session 3-5: Instrumentation

16:00     Flow & velocity measurements – models and experiments – S. ECKERT / Th. WONDRACK (HZDR)

16:25    Synthesis – Konstantin MIKITYUK (PSI)

16:50    Discussion – All

17:30    End of the 2nd Day

Session 4: Student Presentations (PhD Students working on ESFR-SMART Projects will present their work)

09:00     Modeling and assessment of new safety measures for Generation-IV European Sodium Fast Reactor – Janos BODI

09:15     Experimental simulation of core-catcher ablation by corium jet with water / transparent ice system – Alexandre LECOANET

09:30     Electric machines with liquid metal as a working body – Artūrs BRĒĶIS

09:45     A liquid metal vertical confined backward facing step experiment: measurement chain development and calibration – Thomas SCHAUB

10:00     Break

10:15     {Title to be confirmed} – Florian LEROYDEBONNEVILLE

10:30     Cross section generation for GeN-Foam using WIMS – Una DAVIES

10:45     Nuclear data sensitivity and uncertainty analysis for the ESFR-SMART core – Antonio JIMENEZ-CARRASCOSA

11:00     {Title to be confirmed} – Vincenzo Anthony DI NORA

11:15     {TBC}

11:45     Lunch break


Session 5: other coolants

Session 5-1 Heavy Liquid Metals (Pb & Pb-Bi) 3 presentations

13:00    ALFRED and LFR projects – Alessandro ALEMBERTI (ANSALDO Nucleare)

13:20     MYRRHA project – Didier DE BRUYN (SCK-CEN)

13:40     R&D topics to support these projects – Mariano TARANTINO (ENEA)

14:00     Discussion

14:15    Break

Session 5-2 He cooled reactors

14:30     ALLEGRO and GFR projects – Branislav HATALA (VUJE)

14:50     UK Gas cooled reactors operational feedback – Richard STAINSBY (JACOBS)

15:10     R&D topics to support these projects – Petr VACHA (UJV Rez)

15:30     Discussion

15:45    Break

Session 5-3 Molten Salt Reactors

16:00     Overview on Molten Salt Reactors – Paul GAUTHE (CEA)

16:20     MSR fuel cycle – Ondrej BENES (JRC Karlsruhe)

16:40     H2020 Samosafer: overview on required R&D – Jan-Leen KLOOSTERMAN (TU-Delft)

17:00     Discussion

17:15     Summary & Conclusion, Closing

17:30    End of the Meeting


The Spring School is free of charge for all participants.

Contact information & Registration

To attend the webinar, please register here before March 15th, 2021.

Questions related to the Workshop can be asked via email to Mrs. Jo Boyle:

Organizing Committee

A. F. Wibisono (, E. Shwageraus (, C. Latgé (, J. Boyle (